AT THE HEART OF OUR PROTECTIVE GEAR:
meltblown

Klap’s commitment is to manufacture locally. But in order to sustainably reinvent the industry of disposable protective gear, we wanted to control the entire manufacturing chain and produce our own filter media: meltblown.

Having invested in a machine to make meltblown enables us to guarantee our customers a secure supply of protective equipment and the technological control of the entire mask-manufacturing process.

« INDEPENDENCE, PROXIMITY, QUALITY: THE TRIPLE MELTBLOWN EFFECT. »

In a responsible and visionary approach, choosing proximity and quality thanks to a short production circuit was eminently clear to us. We have chosen to project and commit ourselves by giving ourselves the means to ensure the independence and stability of our production, the development of our expertise, and our contribution to a sustainable industrial sector that creates local jobs.

Klap is one of the 10 companies whose project the French government selected as part of the Call for Expressions of Interest. This procedure aims to structure a national industrial sector for the manufacturing of filtering raw materials used in the production of protective masks.

MELTBLOWN: INSTRUCTIONS FOR USE

A blend of the English words “melt” and “blown”, meltblown is a non-woven material made by blending melted and blown micro-fibres. It is used as the main component in respirator masks for its excellent performance in terms of both filtration and breathability.

It is also used as a filtering material for other medical or technical applications: disposable clothing (gowns, medical caps, etc.), sheets and covers, nappies and hygiene protection, insulating or filtering materials for construction and industry, etc.

Between paper and fabric, meltblown is a concentration of qualities: it is light, breathable and, above all, highly filtering. It is an extraordinarily versatile material (polypropylene, polyesters, bio-sourced materials, etc.), and its ability to be combined with other supportive materials (spunbond, plastic coatings, textile supports, etc.) allows the creation of a technical textile with multiple applications.

THE ROLE OF MELTBLOWN IN SURGICAL AND FFP2 NR MASKS

The qualities of meltblown naturally make it an essential component of a disposable respirator mask – whether a surgical mask or an FFP2 NR mask.

As you can see, meltblown has a high filtration capacity. During the manufacturing process, the material it is made up of is stretched to the maximum until it forms a uniform weave of very fine filaments (of 0.1 microns in diameter).

As we know, viruses carry from one person to another through the emission of droplets (up to 2 metres) and aerosols (up to 4 metres). These droplets and aerosols can be up to 5 microns in diameter. Thanks to meltblown, a health-protection mask filters at least 95% of aerosols of 3 microns in diameter if it is a surgical mask, and at least 94% of aerosols of 0.5 microns for an FFP2 NR mask.

 
I WHY DO DISPOSABLE MASKS HAVE AN EXPIRATION DATE? FINALLY, THE ANSWER!
To achieve this filtration performance, the meltblown for respirator masks undergoes a step in manufacturing in which electrostatic charges are added to further enhance particle retention. This electrical charge decreases over time, which explains why disposable masks have a limited shelf-life, even when properly stored in their original packaging.

>I OTHER QUALITIES OF MELTDOWN: its high resistance due to the manufacturing process of nonwoven materials, its breathability since it easily allows oxygen molecules and CO2 to flow through, and last but not least, its lightness. In equal volume, it is 50% lighter than cotton.

DISCOVER OUR PRODUCTS

Our products – Type II, type 2R, and FFP2 NR surgical masks – are developed and made in France and in Switzerland, using decades-old and proven know-how.

MADE IN | MADE IN
  • Filtering FFP2 NR half masks

    1 color : 
    1 size : M

    The FFP2 NR mask protects the wearer against inhalation of aerosols, including very small particles. Bacterial filtration efficiency: at least 94% of aerosols of an average size of 0.6 µm (total inward leakage < 8%).

  • Type II surgical masks

    4 colors : 
    3 sizes : MSXS

    The Type II surgical mask avoids aerosol projection to protect the user's environment. Bacterial filtration efficiency > 98% of an average aerosol size of 3 µm.

  • type IIR surgical masks

    4 colors : 
    3 sizes : MSXS

    The Type 2R surgical mask protects the user's environment and also protects the user from droplet projection. Bacterial filtration efficiency > 98% of a 3 µm medium size aerosol and splash-resistant.

Au cœur de nos protections sanitaires :
le meltblown

Fabriquer localement, c’est l’engagement de Klap. Mais pour réinventer durablement l’industrie de la protection à usage unique, nous avons voulu maîtriser l’ensemble de la chaîne de fabrication et produire nous-même notre propre média filtrant : le meltblown.

Avoir investi dans une machine à fabriquer le meltblown nous permet de garantir à nos clients une sécurité d’approvisionnement en équipements de protection ainsi que la maîtrise technologique de tout le processus de fabrication de masques.

« Indépendance, proximité, qualité : le triple effet meltblown. »

Le choix de la proximité et de la qualité grâce au circuit court s’est imposé à nous comme une évidence dans une démarche responsable et visionnaire. Se projeter et s’engager, c’est la voie que nous avons prise en nous donnant les moyens d’assurer l’indépendance et la stabilité de notre production, le développement de notre expertise et notre contribution à une filière industrielle pérenne et créatrice d’emplois locaux.

Klap fait partie des 10 entreprises dont le projet a été retenu par l’État français dans le cadre de l’Appel à Manifestation d’Intérêt. Cette procédure vise à structurer une filière industrielle nationale de fabrication de matières premières filtrantes entrant notamment dans la fabrication de masques de protection.

Le meltblown : mode d’emploi

Le meltblown (de l’anglais melt : « fondu » et blown : « soufflé ») est un matériau non-tissé, fabriqué par enchevêtrement de micro-fibres fondues puis soufflées. Il est utilisé comme composant principal des masques respiratoires, pour son excellente performance à la fois en termes de filtration et de respirabilité.

Il sert également de matière filtrante pour d’autres applications médicales ou techniques : vêtements jetables (surblouses, charlottes, …), draps et housses, couches et protections hygiéniques, matériaux isolants ou filtrants pour la construction et l’industrie, etc…

Entre papier et tissu, le meltblown révèle un concentré de qualités : il est léger, respirant et, surtout, très filtrant. C’est un matériaux d’une extraordinaire polyvalence (polypropylène, polyesters, matières biosourcées, …) et sa capacité à s’associer avec d’autres supports (spunbond, revêtements plastiques, supports textiles, …) permet la création d’un textile technique aux applications multiples.

Le rôle du meltblown dans les masques chirurgicaux et FFP2

Les qualités du meltblown en font naturellement un composant essentiel d’un masque respiratoire jetable, que ce soit un masque chirurgical ou un masque FFP2.

Vous l’avez compris, le meltblown a un fort pouvoir filtrant. La matière qui le constitue est étirée au maximum lors du processus de fabrication, jusqu’à constituer un enchevêtrement uniforme de filaments très fins de 0.1 micron de diamètre.

Rappelons que les virus sont transportés d’une personne à une autre par l’émission de gouttelettes (jusqu’à 2 mètres) et d’aérosols (jusqu’à 4 mètres). Le diamètre de ces gouttelettes et aérosols  peut aller jusqu’à 5 microns. Grâce au meltblown, un masque de protection sanitaire filtre au moins 95 % des aérosols de 3 microns de diamètre si c’est un masque chirurgical, et au moins 94 % des aérosols de 0.5 microns pour un masque FFP2.

 

>I Pourquoi les masques jetables ont-ils une date de péremption ? Enfin la réponse !

Pour atteindre ces performances de filtration, le meltblown destiné aux masques de protection respiratoire subit une étape de fabrication au cours de laquelle on lui ajoute des charges électrostatiques afin de retenir encore mieux les particules. Or cette charge électrique diminue avec le temps, ce qui explique que les masques de protection jetables ont une durée de vie limitée, même correctement stockés dans leur emballage d’origine.

>I Autres qualités du meltblown : sa haute résistance due au processus de fabrication des matières non tissées, sa respirabilité puisqu’il laisse passer sans difficulté les molécules d’oxygène et de CO2, et enfin sa légèreté : il est 50 % moins lourd que le coton à volume égal.

découvrez Nos produits

Nos produits, masques chirurgicaux de type 2 et de type 2R et masques FFP2, sont conçus et fabriqués en France et en Suisse, selon un savoir-faire reconnu depuis des décennies.

MADE IN | MADE IN
  • Demi-Masques filtrants FFP2

    1 couleur : 
    1 taille : M

    Le masque FFP2 protège son utilisateur contre l’inhalation d’aérosols y compris des particules de très petite taille. Efficacité de filtration bactérienne : au moins 94 % des aérosols de taille moyenne 0,6 µm (fuite totale vers l’intérieur < 8 %).

  • Masques chirurgicaux type II

    4 couleurs : 
    3 tailles : XSSM

    Le masque chirurgical de type II évite la projection d’aérosols pour protéger l’environnement de son utilisateur. Efficacité de filtration bactérienne > 98 % d’un aérosol de taille moyenne 3 µm.

  • Masques chirurgicaux type IIR

    1 couleur : 
    1 taille : M

    Le masque chirurgical de type IIR protège l’environnement de l’utilisateur et le protège aussi des projections de gouttelettes. Efficacité de filtration bactérienne > 98 % d’un aérosol de taille moyenne 3 µm et résistant aux éclaboussures.